O’Dea Wrestling

The O’Dea High School Wrestling Program was started in 1985 by Barrett Corrigan. Since then, the O’Dea wrestling program has experienced a history of success. In 1991, under head coach Dave Enslow, the wrestlers won their first Metro title. That legacy continued for the next eleven years as O’Dea earned twelve consecutive Metro championships.   In all, since it’s inception, the O’Dea Wrestling Program has captured 21 Metro titles and won 9 Regional championships. Individually, 37 wrestlers have become Regional Champions, and 28 wrestlers have earned medals at State. The O’Dea wrestling program earned State Academic Championships in 2002 and 2003.

Jeff Anderson has been the head coach of the program since 1992, and is a member of the O’Dea Athletic Wall of Honor.

Since many of the champions had never wrestled prior to attending O’Dea, much of the credit goes out to all the volunteer alumni assistant coaches who return year after year to help mentor the younger wrestlers.

2016/2017 Schedule
Day Date Opponent Location Time/Result
Thursday December 1 Ingraham Nathan Hale W 66-16
Thursday December 1 Nathan Hale Nathan Hale W 55-23
Saturday December 3 Stanwood Duals Stanwood W 2-1 (Tourney)
Tuesday December 6 Franklin O'Dea W 57-13
Thursday December 8 West Seattle/Lakeside West Seattle 6:30pm
Saturday December 10 Varsity - Lake Washington Tourney Lake Washington 9:00am
Saturday December 10 JV - Snohomish Tourney Snohomish 9:00am
Tuesday December 13 Chief Health Chief Sealth W 72-0
Tuesday December 13 Franklin Pierce Chief Sealth L 24-50
Saturday December 17 Varsity - Graham-Morin Tourney Squalicum HS 9:00am
Saturday December 17 JV - Everett Gold Tourney Everett HS 9:00am
Thursday December 29 Kennedy Tri-Duals Kennedy 9:00am
Friday December 30 Marysville-Pilchuck O'Dea 9:00am
Thursday January 5 Garfield O'Dea 6:30pm
Saturday January 7 Varsity - Shoreline Tourney Shorewood HS 9:00am
Saturday January 7 JV - Arlington Tourney Arlington HS 9:00am
Thursday January 12 Roosevelt Roosevelt W 39-33
Saturday January 14 Varsity - Marysville-Pilchuck Premiere Marysville-Pilchuck 9:00am
Saturday January 14 JV - Liberty Tourney Liberty HS 9:00am
Tuesday January 17 Ballard O'Dea W 69-9
Thursday January 19 Blanchet/Bainbridge Blanchet 6:30pm
Tuesday January 24 Rainier Beach Rainier Beach W 49-28
Thursday January 26 Eastside Catholic Nathan Hale W 72-13
Thursday January 26 Cleveland Nathan Hale W 75-5

Metro Tournament – February 3rd, 5:00pm @ Eastside Catholic & February 4th, 10:00am @ Eastside Catholic

WIAA Region 2 Tournament – February 11th, 7:00am @ Chief Sealth

WIAA State Tournament – February 17th & 18th, 10:00am @ Tacoma Dome


There are no announcements at this time. GO IRISH!

Coach's Corner

Wrestling AndersonCoach Anderson is entering his 27th year as coach of the wrestling team. During this time his teams have earned 20 Metro League championships and 6 Regional titles.   In addition, 27 of his wrestlers have earned State Medals. He has also served as an assistant freshman football coach during his time at O’Dea. A graduate of Lake Washington High School, Washington State University (B.A. English / P.E.), and Western Washington University (M.A. Exercise Science), Anderson has taught and coached in Idaho, Oregon and Washington since 1972.   He also worked for 20 summers at the local CYO summer camps. During his free time, Coach Anderson enjoys all sorts of travel: hiking, sailing, and bicycle touring throughout the greater Northwest.

For more information about Irish Wrestling please contact O’Dea Athletic Director, Monte Kohler, at (206) 624-2068 or odad@odea.org

Metro Champions
1991 1992 1993 1994 1995
1996 1997 1998 1999 2000
2001 2002 2007 2008 2009
2010 2011 2012 2014 2015
Academic State Champions
Regional Champions
1998 1999 2009 2011 2012
2015 2016
Downloadable Resources