O’Dea Golf

The O’Dea High School Golf Program is steeped in talented Alums with victories and many memorable moments both on and off the course. Anyone that has ever golfed for O’Dea will tell you that they have special memories from those times.

The golf program’s history is anchored by Master’s Champion Fred Couples. Couples won two individual State Titles for O’Dea in 1976 and 1977. In 2008 O’Dea won its first State Team title with the help of Cory Mehl, Tyler Kato, and Sandy Vaughan who all placed in the top 15 in state.

Hundreds of young men have had the good fortune to play golf at O’Dea, showing good sportsmanship in both wins and losses. Golf at O’Dea is a very special sport; the boys learn patience, discipline and enjoy great comradeship.


Day Date Opponent Location Time/Result
Friday September 10 Seattle Prep West Seattle Golf 3:30PM
Tuesday September 14 Blanchet West Seattle 3:30PM
Thursday September 16 Lakeside West Seattle 3:30PM
Monday September 20 Cleveland Jefferson 3:30PM
Tuesday September 28 Roosevelt Jackson 3:30PM
Thursday September 30 West Seattle West Seattle 3:30PM
Tuesday October 5 Garfield Jefferson 3:30PM
Thursday October 7 Franklin Jefferson 3:30PM
Tuesday October 12 Eastside Jefferson 3:30PM
Tuesday October 19 Metro Championship Jefferson 8:00AM
Monday October 25 District Championship Riverbend 7:00AM
Monday May 24 State Championship TBD TBD
Tuesday May 25 State Championship TBD TBD
Coach's Corner

Tyler McLaughlin has been O’Dea’s Head Golf Coach since 2020. Since taking over as head coach, Coach McLaughlin has previously coached golf at two other high schools in Washington and Nevada. Continuing on with the success of the O’Dea golf teams, McLaughlin led his team to the Metro and District Championships his first year as head coach. Tyler enjoys helping the boys learn to be disciplined and teaching them to enjoy the lifelong game at a very competitive level.

For more information about Irish Golf please contact O’Dea Athletic Director, Monte Kohler, at (206) 624-2068 or odad@odea.org



State Champions
2007 - 2008
Individual State Champion
1976 - Fred Couples
1977 - Fred Couples
Metro League Champions
1990 1991 1992 1995
1996 2005 2006 2007
Individual Metro League Champion
2006 - Cory Mehl
2007 - Cory Mehl
2008 - Sandy Vaughan
2009 - Tyler Kato
2010 - David Fonua
Academic State Champions
2000 2017